Prakasam District Map

Situated in the south-eastern India, Prakasam is an administrative district in Andhra Pradesh. The district headquarters are located at Ongole. It is one of the nine coastal districts of Andhra Pradesh. According to the 2001 census, the total area of Prakasam District is The population in Prakasam is 3054.94(in thousands), in accordance to the census done in 2001. The Literacy Rate of Prakasam is 57.86%.

Previously known as Ongole, this district was renamed as Prakasam in order to pay homage to the great patriot and Andhra Leader, Tanguturi Prakasam Panthulu, also known as Andhra Kesari (Lion of Andhra) who was born in Kanuparthi village of this district. Some of the main towns in Prakasam district are Ongole, Markapuram, Chirala, Addanki, Kandukur, Parchur, Giddaluru, Podili, Dornala, Cumbum, Kanigiri and Chimakurthi.

There is a parliamentary constituency, Ongole along with 13 assembly constituencies in Prakasam district. This District consists of 13 Towns, 56 Mandalams and 42 Villages approximately

In Prakasam, economy largely depends on Agriculture. The major crops grown here are Rice, Jowar, Turmeric, Maize, Arhar, Cotton, Sugar Cane, Sesame and Chillies.

There are some important locations in this District. Markapur is India's main slates manufacturing town and it is where the historic temple of god Chennakesava is situated. Chimakurthi is famous for granite and Dornala is known as diguva Srisailam, since it is very near the historic pilgrimage of Srisailam.